Nigerian Forwards Osimhen, Oshoala Claims CAF Major Awards In Morocco



Nigeria forward and Super Eagles striker Victor Osimhen has claimed the most prestigious CAF award in Morocco, after beating his counterparts Mohammed Salah of Egypt and Achraf Hakimi of Morocco in the CAF player of the year award, while the Super Falcons forward Asisat Oshoala wins the African Female player of the year.
Napoli superstar Osimhen was outstanding amongst his counterparts after being able to achieve many things to his name. He led the Italian side SSC Napoli to the first scudetto title after 33 years, he also scored 10 goals with Super Eagles of Nigeria in the AFCON qualifying series which is the most in the competition history, Victor claimed the Serie A best striker of the year with numerous numbers of goals both in the league and the UEFA champions league.

Victor broke the jinx of 24 years since a Nigerian player won the award which was Kanu Nwakwo in 1999, Mikel Obi came close in 2013 but lost to Yaya Toure of Ivory Coast on the award days. This time, Osimhen did it, making Nigeria to be part of top country with the award in joint with Ivory Coast with 6 awards each.

The Napoli footballer becomes the 5th Nigerian player to win this award after Rasheed Yekimi in 1993, Emmanuel Amunike in 1994, Victor Ikpeba in 1997, Kanu Nwakwo in 1996 and 1999, then now to Victor Osimhen in 2023.

However, Osimhen is not the only Nigerian to win the award, as Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala defeats others to win the African Female player of the year which makes it the 6th Time in her career.

Barcelona femini forward, Asisat Oshoala has claimed the award back to back three times in a row as the Female player of the year (2019,2022 & 2023 though there was no award ceremony in 2020 and 2021 due to Corona virus pandemic).

The female African best player, Asisat Oshoala makes it a record of 6 awards in her career after clinching the award in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2022 and 2023. She is now the clear record holder of the award as she claimed 6 titles to her name now over Nigerian ex-female player Perpetual Nwokocha with 4 award titles.

Oshoala won treble with Barcelona femini (women Champions league, Liga-F and Copa de la Reina, scored in the FIFA women’s World Cup game which sunk the host Australia to a 3-2 victory and was prolific in the WAFCON qualifying series.

Other awards bagged by Nigerians are women’s Goalkeeper of the year by Chiamaka Nnadozie after she had an outstanding World Cup campaign and great display for her club Paris FC, also Nigeria won the female national team of the year with outstanding performances in the Women’s World Cup.

All the awards bagged in the CAF AWARDS ceremony tonight are:

Player of the Year (Men)

Victor Osimhen

Player of the Year (Women)

Asisat Oshoala

Goalkeeper of the year (Women)

Chiamaka Nnadozie of Nigeria

Goalkeeper of the year (Men)

Yassine Bounou of Morocco

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Fatima Tagnaout of Morocco

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Percy Tau of Al Ahly/South Africa

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Nesryne El Chad of Morocco

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Lamine Camara of Senegal

Coach of the Year (Women)

Desiree Ellis of South Africa

Coach of the Year (Men)

Walid Regragui of Morocco

Club of the Year (Women)

Mamelodi Sundowns

Club of the Year (Men)

Al Ahly FC

National Team of the Year (Women)

Super Falcons of Nigeria

National Team of the Year (Men)


Goal of the Year

Mahmoud Kahraba of Al Ahly FC/Egypt

Leave a Reply