Military headquarters gives service chiefs’ seniors until July 3 to resign


The military high command has given officers who are senior to the newly appointed services till July 3, 2023, to voluntarily retire from service.

The PUNCH had reported that about 100 top officers, including generals, brigadiers-general, air vice marshals, and admirals in the Nigerian Army, Air Force, and Nigerian Navy may proceed on compulsory retirement following the appointment of new service chiefs by the President, Bola Tinubu.

The new Chief of Defence Staff, Major General Christopher Musa is a member of 38 Regular Course, the Chief of Army Staff, Major General Taoreed Lagbaja, the Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral, Emmanuel Ogalla, and the Chief of Air Staff, and Air Vice Marshal, Hassan Abubakar are members of 39 Regular Course.

There are, however,  senior officers who are of course 37 and 38 in service.

According to military tradition, senior officers are unlikely to take orders from their juniors.

However, a memo dated June 26 and signed on behalf of the CDS by Major General Y Yahaya said the affected officers must tender their resignation letter before the states state to preserve and uphold the tenets of the military profession.

The memo read, “It would be recalled that the President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency Bola Ahmed Tinubu recently appointed new CDS and Service Chiefs on  June 19, 2023. In order to preserve and uphold the tenets of the military profession which values hierarchy and service discipline, it is important that all officers whose officer cadet courses run seniority above that of the current Service Chiefs disengage from the Service.

“Consequently, I am directed to respectfully request Services to direct all officers with seniority on commission above that of NDA Regular Course 39 to submit their applications for voluntary retirement from Service with immediate effect. I am to add that affected officers are to submit their applications to their
respective Service Headquarters not later than Mon July 3, 2023.”

Leave a Reply